International Year of Millets-2023

19th October 2022

Maharishi School of Science celebrated International Year of Millets -2023 on 19th October, 2022, the first in the series of year long event, with great enthusiasm. The program included Lecture and Quiz Competition followed by award distribution.

The program started with welcome of the dignitaries and introduction of the event by the host Prof. Neeraj Jain, followed by lamp lighting and pooja of Maa Saraswati and Maharishi ji to seek their blessings. Dr. Sapan Asthana (Dean- Academics) then addressed the audience with his Welcome Address bringing out the significance of the event and that of millets in recent times. Then Dr. Jain presented a brief introduction of Guest Speaker, Dr. Yogendra Kumar Singh (Associate Professor and Head, Department of Plant Pathology, Chandra Bhanu Gupta Agriculture Post Graduate College, Bakshi Ka Talab, Lucknow)before his lecture. Dr. Singh delivered a very elaborate and insightful lecture on ‘Importance of Millets and their Cultivation’. The Guest Speaker was felicitated for his valuable contribution to the event by way of his presence and knowledge sharing.

The lecture was followed by Quiz competition which was participated by around 100 registered students. The program concluded with announcement of winners of Quiz Competition, Vote of Thanks by Dr. Ramakant (Dean, School of Science) and National Anthem.

 The winners were awarded with trophy/medal and certificate by the Guest Speaker and other dignitaries. First prize was bagged by Mr. Anup Kumar Kushwaha, second by Ms. Anjali Singh and third by Ms. Muskan Goswami. The consolation prizes were bagged by Ms. Naincy Singh, Ms. Namrata Singh and Ms. Nancy Srivastava.

The program was well attended by the UG & PG students of  various Science Programs and faculty members along with Dy. Dean-Academics (Dr. Vijay Srivastava), Chief Proctor (Mr. Ankit Srivastava), Dr. Kalyan Acharjya (Dean-MSOET) and Deans of other Schools.

The programme was conducted by Prof. Neeraj Jain and successfully organised by the Convener, Dr. Dheeraj Yadav with the help of faculty members of School of Science (Dr. Monika Singh, Dr.  Ashish Awasthi, Dr. Madhu Prakash Srivastava, Dr. Kanchan Awasthi, Dr. Birendra Singh and Dr. Chintamani Tiwari) under the guidance of Hon’ble Vice Chancellor (Prof. Bhanu Pratap Singh), Dean-Academics and Dean-School of Science.